Just Along for the Ride

Everybody has their own life,

a road they travel, a vehicle for the trip.

Sometimes there are passengers

in the car, talking incessantly

and constantly fiddling with the radio.

Sometimes, the journey is lonely,

the silence sitting awkwardly in

the back seat, staring out the window

at the night. Nonetheless, the path taken

is filled with people along the way.

As for me? I’m just along for the ride.

I’m not behind the wheel.

I’m not looking at maps or

asking for directions from someone.

I’m just along for the ride.

I could be in your vehicle,

helping you navigate the road ahead.

I could be the highlight

of the trip, pointing out landmarks

and recommending good restaurants for lunch.

But I’m not by your side

as you travel life’s highways.

I’m just along for the ride.

You can’t see me, you can’t hear me.

I’m not in your thoughts at all.

I’m just along for the ride.

Brett Mattison

Leave a comment